kblasas.blogg.se

Hp smart array p410i controller failure
Hp smart array p410i controller failure













hp smart array p410i controller failure
  1. Hp smart array p410i controller failure serial number#
  2. Hp smart array p410i controller failure install#
  3. Hp smart array p410i controller failure update#

I finally broke down recently and bought an HP DL180se for $237 with 2x quad-core Xeons and 32GB ECC RAM. Another thing is I was dreading the migration of the data. It started getting to be a pain managing data across 14 individual drives. Over the past few years I've just been buying a new 5TB external drive every few months or so and they've all been connected via USB. So this new FreeNAS setup is a definite move in the right direction for me. I hope this helps anyone who is in the same boat as me. Please don't suggest to buy new hardware because I'm making due with what I have. In summary: I know it's not perfect and I'm open for any suggestions as I'm still new to FreeNAS. Sed -i '' -e '/SMART Error Log Version/d' "$logfile"Ĭat "$logfile" | mail -s "$subject" "$email" Sed -i '' -e '/Vendor Specific SMART/d' "$logfile" Sed -i '' -e '/SMART Attributes Data/d' "$logfile" Sed -i '' -e '/= START OF READ/d' "$logfile" Smartctl -d cciss,"$drive" -l selftest /dev/ciss0 | grep "# 1 \|Num" | cut -c6. Smartctl -d cciss,"$drive" -H -A -l error /dev/ciss0

Hp smart array p410i controller failure install#

This will install to the jail's /usr/local/bin/, so if you were to access this from outside the jail, it would be at /) #".(if you get permission errors, I found it easier to copy the archive to /tmp/ and working from there) Download, compile, and install cciss_vol_status which is found here: (look for cciss_vol_status-1.12.tar.gz).

hp smart array p410i controller failure

  • Since you lose out on some of the automatic SMART drive monitoring, you'll have to do this manually through the use of cciss_vol_status and smartctl.
  • This makes life a lot easier in the event of a drive failure. You will want to disconnect/remove one drive at a time and see what device goes offline, this way you can label your drives on your chassis/enclosure.

    Hp smart array p410i controller failure serial number#

    If you attempt to view the hard disk serial from the web UI, you'll see the same serial number for all your drives because this is coming from the RAID controller. This will give you a list of device names and gptid.

  • After creating your first vdev and before loading any data in it, run a 'zpool status' and copy the outputs.
  • As I stated in the preface, the HP SAs don't support JBOD mode, so you need to put each drive in its own RAID0 logical volume.
  • Originally, the older controllers did not support drives over 2TB but the new firmware does.

    Hp smart array p410i controller failure update#

  • Update your HP SmartArray (SA) controller to start with.
  • Here are some of the things I've done to mitigate potential issues. I know that you lose out on a lot of features by running each drive in an individual RAID0 logical volume. Keep in mind that this is for my home and the data isn't mission critical. Preface: Old HP server hardware is cheap! I have over 75TB of data and not much extra cash to drum up a proper solution. Here is my experience with HP SmartArray controllers with FreeNAS.















    Hp smart array p410i controller failure